Lumpiang Sariwa/ Gulay

This is definitely one of those “Don’t mess with perfection!” moments…at least for me.

Anyone who knows me will tell you that I have always been into losing weight and dieting BUT I also LOVE food 🙂 Not to the point of gluttony, of course, I just enjoy eating food and don’t believe in wasting it or playing with it.

I also think food fights are not funny. It’s dumb.

Anyway, it is this love for great food that I have a category solely dedicated to it on my blog. In fact, until last year, I never thought I’d write about food or cooking. My elder sister could testify to this. We lived together for over a decade in Dubai and except for the few times that I made my special corned beef and omelet combo, I stayed away from the kitchen. She was the designated cook for all seasons and reasons.  Simply put, I’m never anyone’s go to when it comes to cooking.

While I’m convinced that my culinary talents are lacking, my mom has more faith in me and convinced me otherwise.

She always tells me, those who eat delicious meals can make delicious meals.

Fortunately enough, after getting married and moving to Singapore, my cooking skills are much better now. I enjoy cooking for my hubby and am fortunate that he loves most of the dishes that I have made so far.

One of them is Lumpiang gulay/ sariwa (Fresh Vegetable Spring rolls). It is one of my childhood favorites so I’m really glad that hubby loves it too. It’s yummy, healthy and can be easily made gluten free! Now, what makes or breaks this dish is the sauce. Thankfully, I found this wonderful don’t-mess-with-perfection recipe online. I love it, love it, love it! Now for those with food allergies and intolerances, I’ll tell you where I made my changes in the:

Filling:

  • I removed shrimps and didn’t replace it with any seafood or meat because it’s really not necessary
  • instead of garlic, I used onions and toasted it a bit
  • didn’t use fish sauce
  • Instead of ubod, I just stir fried the vegetables like green beans, carrots, bean sprouts, celery, sweet potatoes with white pepper and plain salt
  • I followed the rest of ingredients and procedure.

Sauce:

I used Kikkoman Gluten Free soy sauce and followed the rest of ingredients and procedure.

Lumpia Wrappers: (This turned out great but nowadays, I use Rice Flour-it’s just awesome!)
  • 1 cup cornstarch
  • 1-1/2 cups water
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon oil
  • nonstick cooking spray

So this is how my first try using cornstarch looked like…

IMG_1198

This is how the second one looked like with crepe wrapper….

IMG_0386

Both turned out great!

I just thought this post is a good way to end this week. I wish you all a yummy-filled weekend.

Always be happy and grateful!

 

7 thoughts on “Lumpiang Sariwa/ Gulay

      1. Hi! How are you? My apologies… It’s been hectic here at home with the holidays and all. We’re based in Singapore right now. I’ll be visiting the Philippines at the end of the month but only for a week.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi!!! I love rice flour because I can’t really tolerate gluten. And rice flour is awesome and easier to use than corn flour so I use it in almost everything possible to use it in. I can’t thank you enough for the lumpia recipe because everyone loves it!

      Like

Leave a comment